I’m…engaged!!!婚約しました!


So I think you all know already, due to the fact that my sister beat me to sharing the news (I told her she could share, but forgot to talk to her about the timing)—but yes! I am officially engaged to Shinohara (family name) Hikaru (first name-names in Japan start with the family name), a wonderful and inspiring man of God. It was a planned ceremony, as many christian churches in Japan hold a 婚約式(Konnyakushiki, engagement ceremony). It is a way to come before God and make a promise in front of the congregation as well to get married and take care of each other for life–kind of a vow to make a vow ceremony, to put it in other words.

妹がフェスブックで私より早くアップしたことで、みんなはもうご存知だと思いますが、クリスマスイブに、教会で、婚約式を行いました!今年の1月6日に出逢い、篠原光と付き合い始め、沢山話したり、神様第一している男だと分かり、5月か6月ぐらいにはもう結婚を目指していました。

Hii-kun (Hee-kun, what I call my fiance) worked very hard to find the perfect ring that I could wear (So thankful and happy!!). In Japan, one doesn’t wear their engagement ring every day. It is a sort of keepsake the bride will keep and treasure for life in a box or on display. it is considered rude to wear it every day, because it is not considerate to make others jealous. However, Hii-kun knew I wanted to wear it all the time, so he searched for a ring that was beautiful, but wouldn’t be so bold. I love the ring he found for me. I left it all up to him, and didn’t give him any hints on what I like.

弾ー君(ひー君、色んな楽器を弾けるので、ニックネームがこうなりました^0^)は本当に頑張って、一番いい指輪を見つけてくれました。日本で毎日つけないのを最近初めて知って、それは悲しかったから、彼氏が一生懸命、毎日つけられる指輪を探してくれました。

IMG_1710

Another thing about the engagement ring, is that it goes on the right ring finger, while the wedding ring goes on the left. I didn’t know that until a couple of days before the ceremony. I’m so glad to have been told, because I would have felt embarrassed by lifting up my left hand.

婚約指輪は右手だと初めて知りました!アメリカだと左手です。

In the video, I am so caught up that I am unable to come up with a speech (my head was blank, and I didn’t even cry because I couldn’t process that it was real). I just tell everyone I can’t come up with any words, and that I am thankful for everyone who were able to witness and for their support, and yoroshiku onegaishimasu (it is really hard to translate–in this situation, it means please work with me in the future as well, through the tough and through the good times). Hii-kun on the other hand, had a huge speech that just poured out of his mouth. He has a really great mind–I hope my kids have his brain. Hii-kun spoke of how in World War II, Japan and the US were enemies. However, right now they are inseparable, just like Hii-kun and I are. Just recently in the news, Trump chose to support Israel, which means the US will do so as well. He said that is God’s plan, and He is very pleased with it–and we are a symbol of what God is doing in the world today. Things will get harder, because the Bible says it will–but we don’t run from it, we face it head on, Japan and the US, hand in hand.

IMG_1720

Hii-kun’s family was surprisingly supportive. We didn’t expect so much excitement, but it seems no one opposes us. The most important thing was that I stay in Japan–which for all that really know me, is not a challenge or problem. It is exactly what my dream is, to stay here and do God’s work. The pastor in the video is Hii-kun’s father. Hii-kun’s Grandfather surprised me with how happy he was about us getting married. He came and shook my hand, and said that he guesses that makes me his daughter–which Hii-kun’s father came around and corrected–grandaughter. Either way, I was so moved that I wound up shedding a few tears on my way home. I found that having people I could call family nearby really warmed my heart. I didn’t realize how lonely I had actually felt.

弾ー君の家族が本当にサポートしてくれて、心から感動しました。日本に残れば大丈夫の条件なんですが、私を良く知ってる人であれば、それは問題ないと分かります。弾ー君のお爺さんのリアクションで本当に泣くほど感動しました。家族と呼んでくれて、やっぱり深い所には実は寂しかったみたいです。家族が近くに住んでいると本当にいいことだと思いました。

IMG_1711IMG_1696IMG_1718

Right now, Hii-kun is working with his family to run the church, but he will soon join his Grandfather’s company full time, starting from April (the time of year that new staff enters a company from graduation). He will get the apartment we will live in from March, and begin to live on his own for a few months. I will move in when we get married–which will be in June. The day is not decided yet, but as soon as I know, I will share the date=)

今の所は、弾ー君は家族と教会をやっていますが、来年の4月からお爺さんの会社に入ります。結婚式は2018年の6月を目指しています!

We are going to do a family ceremony, and a public reception. When I know more details, I will explain what it will look like again=)As the rest of our lives is much more important than one ceremony and reception, we plan to do it as simple and cheaply as possible. We don’t believe that money makes one happy, but rather can cause a lot of stress in exchange. We want to use money on things that matter most, like taking care of others, and doing work that would please God. We are very aware that others have stronger opinions about treasuring that day, but we are treasuring it more than others may think. We just believe that it is the moment that is special, not the decorations or preparation. There is a wedding dress I can borrow for free, and we can use the church as a location, as well as Hii-kun’s Grandfather’s company building for the reception.

結婚がもっと決定していたら、また報告します!

We are most certainly wanting kids. They will come naturally. However, over having our own kids, we are also very interested in fostering and adopting. We want to take care of the kids who have no home or family, and give them that support. I think that will be a little further down the road, because we first have to work together to build our foundation. We move together and think together, but we do have two different cultures, so we have to figure out those things and become even better than we already are–which is of course already amazing. I feel so blessed to have found such a wonderful God-loving man, and am so very excited to become husband and wife in 2018.

Here is the video!!=’) Sorry for not putting in subs. That is a ton of work I am unable to do for now.

婚約式の動画はこちら!

God is good, and He really looks after us. We just have to stop trying to control, and give it all over to Him–and act on what He asks us to do.

神様は本当に素晴らしいです。私たちの面倒をいつも見てくれます。私たちがしたいことじゃなくて、神様に従いすることが一番大事だと今年一番分かりました。

本当に幸せになりました。これからも皆さん、どうぞよろしくお願い致します!

God bless you all!!

Emily

Categories Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “I’m…engaged!!!婚約しました!

  1. Oh, I am so happy for you, Emily! I didn’t want to spend on the event either, and I’ve never regretted our decision. We had lots of help from the church and got to borrow a place for the reception, too. Joining two cultures has its challenges, but with God all things are possible. Enjoy the journey!

    1. Dear Aunt Rose, thank you so much!!
      We are ready to take on the journey!

Please Comment!=)

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close