Got Hitched!❤️


 

0096_originalのコピー

Well, this is it! I am married!

We had a wonderful ceremony May 3rd at a wonderful French restaurant in Kita-senju. It was cramped and I couldn’t invite all I wanted, but I did have the gift of a few family members able to make the trip to this side of the world, and the best present of all–getting to spend the rest of my life with the one who God led me to–the one I really waited my whole life for. I am so blessed.

0047_original

The ceremony is really just a blur in my mind now, as it all went by so fast. We went a little over time, but hey, it’s a wedding. Those things can’t have a time limit. My husband Hikaru’s family did the whole ceremony for us–Hii-kun’s father is a pastor, so he took care of the ceremony, and his brother lead us through the reception. We didn’t have a cake, but exchanged bites of raw fish. We skipped the kiss (because of culture), but someone stood up and everyone chanted for it, so we got to squeeze it in.

0452_originalのコピー

It was very difficult for it to mean a ton to my family because of the language and culture barriers, but my friend Makiba did the translating for the reception, and my family supported me in the front row as we exchanged vows and rings.

0249_original

I am so very blessed to have so many great people surrounding me–surrounding us, as a freshly married couple.

Weddings are wonderful, but oh so highly stressful. The hardest part for me was hurting other people’s feelings when I missed inviting someone. I didn’t realize what I had done until after the ceremony. For now though, I can’t think about that. I have to move on, and focus on my husband–and to focus on God together as a God-fearing couple.

My husband and I now live together in Tokyo in a nice snug apartment with 2 rooms and a kitchen. We have a nice morning routine of waking up around 5am. While he gets ready for work (he leaves sooner than I do), I iron his clothes, and cook breakfast. I really enjoy doing it, because I used to fantasize about doing that when I got married one day. I am sure many are thinking–you’ll tire of that soon!  I am sure you are right. But, I am very proud of my position as a house wife. Right now I have a full time job because of my visa status (which will change when I apply for spouse visa). I however, hope to become a part time worker in order to give my husband a peaceful haven to come home to.

He loves me more and more every day, and surprises me by doing a little cleaning here and there. He loves doing the laundry, so I hardly get to do it anymore (he beats me to it!) He throws out the trash, and he always tells me “thank you for everything”.

We hope to have kids soon as well. He expresses his excitement all the time when daydreaming about what our children might be like personality wise. I am so very happy that he is excited as well. We hope to give you all an update when we have made that dream come true.

I love you all and hope and pray you are all doing well.

God bless you!

Until the next update,

Emily Shinohara

Categories Uncategorized

4 thoughts on “Got Hitched!❤️

  1. thank you for this update! I still have not seen the video of the wedding, due to technological issues. Hopefully, soon! My best to both of you. Or, I should say, “God’s best to both of you!” Love, Grandma 🙂

    Dancing thro’ life with Jesus…

  2. My heart swells with love and joy for you!

Please Comment!=)

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close